× This is the forum where you may talk about anything. Need help with Genealogy Software? Ask here! Tell us all about your research trips, ask questions, tell everyone your exciting finds, complain about your brick walls or post tips for those new to DNA testing. Let others know about reunions and events. Whatever you want to talk about, this is the place to do it. Just use good judgment in your posts and treat others like you expect to be treated.

Hezekiah Phillips (1780-1855) North/South Carolina - Georgia - Alabama

• phill017
  • phill017's Avatar Topic Author
More
24 Feb 2014 14:13 #1429 by phill017
Hello all, I've been chasing my Phillips family line for 10 years now and have gotten to the point most all of us have at least at one point reached: stuck.

The family story goes like: "Two Phillips families left Scotland, one went to Canada - one to the North/South Carolina. They spent some time in Spartanburg, SC and moved down through Georgia and eventually set up camp in Dale/Coffee/Geneva County, Alabama and one small group in Santa Rosa County, FL."

As a disclaimer this line is pretty shady with some criminal background that some of the older generations are to this day quiet and reserved about - even with close family.

Our DNA is heavily over-represented in Ireland and more specifically Northern Ireland (with the typical "stowaway" story with not much proof.

My Family Tree: Phillips Family Tree

There seems to be some potential leads with the North Carolina family: Foster Phillips, Richard Phillips as there is a Hezekiah Phillips mentioned below:

Richard Phillips and Joseph Phillips enumerated 1790 Stokes County Census, living next door to each other.